Categories
Novels

Indian English Novel in the Nineties

Contributed articles.

Categories
Novels

Dark Site, A Sam Dryden Novel

From the author of Runner, Sam Dryden comes under attack from unknown forces as an unremembered episode from his past threatens more than just his life. On an otherwise normal morning, former Special Forces operative Sam Dryden is the target of an unsuccessful attempted abduction. Using his attacker’s cellphone, he learns that another person, a…

Categories
Novels

The Social Impact of the Novel, A Reference Guide

Contains entries that provide information on two hundred novels written in or translated into English, each including publication data, discussion of historical context, an assessment of the public’s reaction to the work and its influence, and a bibliographical citation. Arranged geographically.

Categories
Novels

Good Morning, Midnight, A Novel

The story of two outsiders–a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth–as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed.

Categories
Novels

Afropolitanism and the Novel, De-realizing Africa

The place of the novel as a literary form in Africa is contested. Its colonial origins and its unaffordability for most Africans make it a bad fit for the continent, yet it was also central to the creation of most postcolonial African national literary canons. These bipolar traditions remain unresolved in recent debates about Afropolitanism…

Categories
Novels

Lincoln in the Bardo

“From the seed of historical truth that is the death of President Lincoln’s beloved eleven-year-old son Willie, George Saunders spins a story of familial love and loss that breaks free of its realistic, historical framework into a supernatural realm … Willie Lincoln finds himself in a strange purgatory where ghosts mingle, gripe, commiserate, quarrel, and…

Categories
Novels

The Woman in White, Epistolary Novel

The Woman in White is Wilkie Collins’ fifth published novel, written in 1859. It is considered to be among the first mystery novels and is widely regarded as one of the first (and finest) in the genre of “sensation novels”.The story is sometimes considered an early example of detective fiction with protagonist Walter Hartright employing…

Categories
Novels

Rage, A Stormheart Novel

From New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack, the second in the captivating new YA fantasy/romance Stormheart series, perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard. Princess or adventurer. Duty or freedom. Her Kingdom or the storm hunter she loves. If Aurora knows anything, it’s that choices have consequences. To set things right, she…

Categories
Novels

A Companion to the Victorian Novel

This reference is an introductory guide to the Victorian novel and its contexts. It examines the emergence of the Victorian novel and its literary precursors, with particular emphasis on serialization and syndication; it looks at significant social and cultural contexts surrounding the novel; it discusses various genres, such as ghost stories, the Gothic, and detective…

Categories
Novels

Starport (Graphic Novel)

Ten years ago, representatives from an interstellar collective of 314 alien species landed on Earth, inviting us to become number 315. Now, after seemingly endless delays, the Starport in Chicago is operational, a destination for diplomats, merchants, and tourists alike. Inside, visitors are governed by intergalactic treaty. Outside, the streets belong to Chicago’s finest. Charlie…